Lucha Va Awesome

The thought of this game, even if it sucks, makes me happy like you would not believe.  The first college I  went to I refound my childhood love of wrestling. At 7 pm Monday nights on Galavision the AAA would come on.

It was not the wrestling that I remembered as I child, the WWF that I  watched and the NWA which I loved and it was not in English which made it all  the more exotic. Furthermore, the rules were completely different. I  had yet to realize that wrestling is in fact dictated as much by the culture in which it is found as anything else.  Wrestling is a cultural construct. England, Japan, Mexico and the United States all  have their different intepretations of the sport and in some cases it can be broken down even further into different areas.  For a, then, budding anthropologist it was a gold mine.

One of the 10,000 different books I want to write involves studying the cultural interpretations in different areas of the world. The fact that I would have to spend extended time in areas like Mexico City, Tokyo, and various American cities does not hurt the endeavor either.

The fact that it is “fake” helps the cause, allowing for further cultural meanings to slip into the sport. Every culture has different heros and villians and this is what the story is about after all. America could not have produced Santo. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santo Just as Mexico could not have produced Hulk Hogan.

Leave a Reply

